Officer Decision under delegated powers

Title:

Appointments to Outside Bodies 2020/21

Background:

Officer Scheme of Delegation:

Paragraph 1.14 authorises the Head of Legal and Governance to appoint representatives to outside bodies in cases where the nominations do not exceed the number of vacancies.

Consultation:

The vacancies on the Outside Bodies were the subject of consultation with Party Group Leaders for the submission of their nominees.

Decision(s):

The appointment of individuals to Outside Bodies as set out in Annexe 1 – Nominations for uncontested vacancies.

Reason(s) for decision:

To ensure that Reigate and Banstead Borough Council is represented on the Outside Bodies that it supports for the forthcoming Municipal Years.

Alternative option(s):

To not appoint the proposed individuals to represent the Council on the Outside Bodies and to seek further nominations for these places.

Appendices:

1. Annexe 1 – Nominations for uncontested vacancies



Declarations of interest:

Please refer to the **Code of Conduct** for guidance on interests.

If you think you have an interest in this Officer Decision, please Contact <u>Democratic Services</u> (01737 276182).

Decision taken by: Joyce Hamilton

Signature: Joyce Hamilton Date: 26.10.2020

Post held: Head of Legal and Governance

ANNEXE – 1 OUTSIDE BODY APPOINTMENTS

Outside Body	Vacancies	Period of office	2020/21 Nomination	2021/21 Substitute
Coast to Capital Local Enterprise Partnership Joint Committee	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Brunt	Councillor Humphreys
Countryside Partnership Board	1	Until May 2023	Councillor Bramhall	None
Discretionary Rate Relief Panel	5	2020/21 and 2021/22	 Councillor Knight Councillor Lewanski Councillor Schofield Councillor Turner 	None
Downland Liaison Group	1	Until May 2023	Councilor Bramhall	None
Earlswood Common Management Steering Group	A Councillor from each of the surrounding wards	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor BramhallCouncillor BrownCouncillor Kulka	None
Epsom and Ewell District Council Health Liaison Panel	1 + Deputy	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor TurnerCouncillor Ashford (Deputy)	None
Gatwick Airport Joint Local Authorities Group	2	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor BruntCouncillor Biggs	None
Gatwick Greenspace Partnership	2	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor BramhallCouncillor Horwood (Deputy)	None
Henry Smith Charity	1	Until May 2024	Councillor Blacker	None
Horley Town Management Group	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Lynch	None
Local Government Association – District Councils Network	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Brunt (Leader of the Council)	None

Outside Body	Vacancies	Period of office	2020/21 Nomination	2021/21 Substitute
Local Government Association - General Assembly	1 + Deputy	2020/21 and 2021/22	 Councillor Brunt (Leader of the Council) Councillor Schofield (Deputy Leader) 	None
Local Government Association - Strategic Aviation Special Interest Group	1 + Deputy	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor BiggsCouncillor Horwood (Deputy)	None
Nork Community Association	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Feeney	None
Public Sector Board	2	2020/21 and 2021/22	 Councillor Brunt (Leader of the Council) Councillor Schofield (Deputy Leader) 	None
Reigate and Banstead Community Safety Partnership	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	The Portfilio Holder for Community Safety (Cllr Ashford)	None
Reigate and Banstead District Citizens Advice Bureaux	1 + Deputy	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor ParnallCouncillor Kelly (Deputy)	None
Reigate and Banstead Sports Council	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Horwood	None
Reigate and Banstead Twinning Association	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Turner	None
Reigate and Banstead Women's Aid	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Ritter	None
Reigate Heath Management Steering Group	1 + Deputy	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor BramhallCouncillor Blacker (Deputy)	

Outside Body	Vacancies	Period of office	2020/21 Nomination	2021/21 Substitute
Surrey County Playing Fields Association	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Horwood	None
Surrey Crimestoppers Board	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Moses	None
Surrey Environment Partnership	1 + Deputy	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor BramhallCouncillor Biggs (Deputy)	None
Surrey First Joint Committee	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Brunt (Leader of the Council)	None
Surrey Hills Partnership	2	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor AbsalomCouncillor McKenna	None
Surrey Historic Environment Forum – Heritage Chamption	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Kelly	None
Surrey Scrutiny Co-ordination Group	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Harrison (Chairman, Overview and Scrutiny Committee)	Councillor Walsh (Vice Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee)
YMCA East Surrey Housing Advisory Group (formally Housing Services Committee)	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Kelly	None
YMCA East Surrey Facilities and Environment Sub Committee	1	2020/21 and 2021/22	Councillor Essex	None